Faculty of Information Science & Technology

About the faculty

The Faculty of Information Science and Technology (Previously known as faculty of Computer Science), East Africa University was established in 1999. The Faculty provides degree program leading to a Bachelors of Computer Sciences (BCS) and Bachelor of Information System (BIS).

These programs are constantly being updated in order to reflect current research in the field, to satisfy curriculum recommendations by the EAU and to remain up to date with changes in technology. All programs emphasize a combination of theory and practice. The curriculum enables students to gain the knowledge and background needed to further their professional and academic growth and to develop skills which will allow them to contribute meaningfully as computer scientist and information science professionals.

The Faculty of Information Science and Technology of East Africa University offers four (4) years Program. Each academic year comprises two independent semesters. The academic year starts on September and ends on June of every year. The faculty has two departments:

  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Information Systems

Said Abdi Hersi

Dean of Information Science & Technology


Why Study Here?

With a BA in Information Science & Technology and some experience, graduates can be ready to seek out roles in various fields. Some career titles could include:

  • Data scientist
  • Software tester
  • Web developer
  • Systems analyst
  • Business analyst
  • Product manager
  • Network architect
  • Software engineer
  • Database administrator

The faculty of Information Science & Technology has been offered by the university with considerable success since 2009.